Healthy Living Awaits- Real Health. Real Food. Real Living

What’s Cooking? Today’s Dish: Polenta with Raw Cheddar Cheese

My family has been making polenta for a long time. For those who don’t know what polenta is, it is made out of corn meal. Polenta is used a lot in Italian cooking. One of my favorite ways to make polenta, is as a warm breakfast cereal. To be honest, I can eat this any time of the day!

 

I just made this recipe up on the fly, but you would never have known that!

 

Let’s get started!

 

First off, I bring 4 cups of water to a boil. When the water reaches a boil, I go ahead and add 1 cup of polenta. Grab a whisk and stir the polenta constantly, so no clumps form. When the polenta starts to thicken, stir in about 9 cubs of raw cheese. Once the cheese is melted, turn off the heat.  I topped this dish off with some extra slices of raw cheese, and drizzled some raw honey on top. Delish!

 

This recipe serves about 4, or 2 very hungry people! I don’t count calories or fat, so I can’t give you that information. Let’s just say, it’s not unhealthy!

 

I have pictures!

This is what the dish looks like finished.

 
 
 

 

Here are the ingredients I used.

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

This picture is kind of hard to see. It is Eden’s seasonal local raw honey.

 
 
 

I hope you enjoyed this recipe, and will give it a try!

 
This entry was published on June 3, 2012 at 10:36 PM and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

