Healthy Living Awaits- Real Health. Real Food. Real Living

GAPS Introduction Diet: Day 1

So, today I started the GAPS Introduction Diet, and well….it was an experience. I wasn’t fully prepared for the different cooking I was going to have to do, so the beginning of the day I was starved. 

Morning- 

When I woke up, I realized that I didn’t have any food that was in the house (that was allowed during stage one), except for grass-fed beef hot dogs. I know that seems like “Hot dogs? What?”, but I figured they were okay since, they were gluten and casein-free, and were made with just natural, organic spices. Anyway, I boiled two of those, and ate them for breakfast. Having hot dogs for breakfast wasn’t as bad as I thought, especially when you’re starving!

Early Evening-

So, after breakfast, I went to the farmers market and the health food store, to pick up some things that are allowed during stage one. When I came back home I boiled some cauliflower, and added some salt and pepper. Boring lunch. 


Dinner-

For dinner, I did a little better preparing a meal for myself. I made chicken and vegetable soup. I just made it up on the fly, adding in safe ingredients. 

4 organic chicken thighs

carrots

2-3 cups of collard greens

1 onion

2 large cloves of garlic

2-3 tablespoons of fresh parsley

My beef broth wasn’t defrosted in time, so I just used water. I figured I compromised a little with using the thigh bones. I just coated the pan with olive oil, add the onions, garlic, carrots, parsley, and chicken. I covered it with water, and brought it to a boil, and then let it simmer for 2 hours. Near the end, I added in the collard greens. I added sea salt throughout the cooking process. 

Not much of my thigh meat came off the bone, so I shredded the meat off the bone  right before taking it off the stove.

Ginger tea after dinner-


All in all, the soup turned out good, and it was a good way to finish off the night on my first day on the GAPS. I’m hoping to get better as time goes on. Once I get more familiar with the food I’m allowed to eat, I’m sure I’ll get better at my meal planing. 

Are you or have you been on the GAPS diet? How was your experience? Do you have any tips or recipes? If so, let my know in the comments. Thanks!

 

http://www.yourthrivingfamily.com 

This entry was published on June 16, 2012 at 8:35 PM and is filed under GAPS. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

