Healthy Living Awaits- Real Health. Real Food. Real Living

GAPS Introduction Diet: Day 3

It seems like every day I’m on this diet, I’m getting more and more used to it. It’s actually helped me realize that I can make healthy and some fairly good meals, without many ingredients. Today, I actually made one of the best soups I’ve ever had! 

Mid-Late Morning-

Sausage and vegetable soup.

Ingredients-

2 organic turkey and chicken sausages (sliced)

1-2 cups of organic kale (chopped)

4-5 carrots, chopped (I used heirloom carrots that I got from a local market. Aren’t they cute looking?)

2-3 tbs. fresh organic parsley

half an onion (chopped)

homemade beef/bone broth

sea salt to taste

I placed all ingredients in the pot, then brought it to a boil, and then let simmer for 1 hour. 

The minute it started to boil, I could smell it, and I immediately knew it was going to taste good. The sausage tasted really good with the homemade broth. This will be a recipe that I’ll make again, even when I’m off of GAPS.  

Snack-

Organic plain yogurt.

Grass-fed beef hot dogs

Dinner-

Boiled brocoli and brussel sprouts.

Today was time to add in raw egg yolks to my diet. The thought of it made me sick to my stomach, but when I tried it, it wasn’t bad at all. It tasted exactly like a sunny side-up egg. Oh, and the egg whites? I gave those to my dog. 🙂 

The egg yolks broke, and settled to the bottom of the bowl.

So, today was a better day (food wise), and I’m relieved that I didn’t have any complications with the egg yolks. I was kind of worried how my stomach would be, since in the past when I would have eggs, I would feel nauseous. I think my gut is already healing!




This entry was published on June 18, 2012 at 9:53 PM and is filed under GAPS. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

