Healthy Living Awaits- Real Health. Real Food. Real Living

Taco Tuesday!

I made tacos last night, but I didn’t have enough time to post the recipe, so here it is!

This was my first time making tacos on the GAPS and I didn’t realize that the organic taco seasoning has rice flour in it, so I looked online and found a taco seasoning recipe that is real easy to make at home, and it tastes just like the seasoning from the package too! 

Click Here to go the original page with the recipe

Seasoning recipe:

  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
3 tbs. = 1 pound of meat 
We make two pounds for my family, so we doubled the seasoning and it was perfect!
What’s great about this recipe is that it’s healthier than buying the processed packaged seasoning with hidden ingredients, and you probably have all these seasonings already in your kitchen! 
We used grass-fed ground beef and everyone used organic corn shells, while I wrapped my taco in iceberg lettuce. I think lettuce tastes great using it to wrap food, and even if you’re not on the GAPS, it’s still a healthier lower calorie option. Since most people have more than one taco and usually people put a lot of different toppings on, you can cut back and save some of those calories by using a lettuce wrap. Besides, the best part of a taco is what’s inside! 
I topped my taco with tomatoes, avocado and organic sour cream. 


I hope you try out this seasoning recipe for your next Taco Tuesday!

This entry was published on July 11, 2012 at 10:28 AM and is filed under Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

