Healthy Living Awaits- Real Health. Real Food. Real Living

Homemade Sheep’s Milk Ricotta Cheese (Italian Style)

For a long time now I’ve been wanting to make homemade cheeses and have been doing a lot of searching and reviewing to find a good recipe. 

When I bought raw sheep’s milk from a farm, I researched things I could do with it. One of them was to make sheep’s milk ricotta cheese. As I was reading other blogs, I saw that no one could find sheep’s milk and that’s why most ricotta cheeses in America are made with cow’s milk. I saw some people took a trip to Tuscany and said that they make their ricotta with sheep’s milk, and they said it tasted sublime. I figured I’d had to try it! 

I got this recipe from Food & Style but I substituted the cow’s milk for sheep’s milk. I also, used 3 1/2 tablespoons of lemon juice, and cut the straining time in half. 

cups of sheep’s milk (I used raw)

1/2 teaspoon of sea salt

3 1/2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice

Pour milk into a large pot and add in sea salt. Make sure you stir occasionally to prevent scorching.

Let the milk heat until you see it start to simmer around the edges. Don’t boil.

Once it starts to simmer, turn off heat and then add in lemon juice. The curds should start forming immediately. Let sit for 5-10 minutes.

Once the milk is done sitting, go ahead and pour it into a cheese cloth over a strainer. Make sure there is a bowl under the strainer for the whey.

I held the cheese cloth up, so I could let all the whey pour through the cheese cloth.   SAVE THE WHEY!

Depending on how dry you want your ricotta, the longer you will let it strain. I only strained mine for 2 minutes, and it was pretty dry. I wonder if that had something to do with it being sheep’s milk.

Finished Italian sheep’s milk ricotta cheese

It didn’t make much, but it sure tasted great! Next time, maybe I will try to make it more moist and see how that tastes. All in all, I was very pleased how it came out!

This entry was published on July 27, 2012 at 1:47 PM and is filed under GAPS, Nutrition/Eat This Not That, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

