Healthy Living Awaits- Real Health. Real Food. Real Living

How to Make Homemade Kale Chips

I love to make kale chips every now and then for a nice snack. I think this probably goes without saying, but these are 100 times healthier than potato chips. They contain more beneficial vitamins (like K, A and C), and kale has been linked to lowering five different types of cancers (colon, breast, bladder, prostate and ovary). They also contain fewer calories and fat than potato chips. Plus, these are homemade, so they’re not processed. 

Ingredients-

2 bunches of organic kale (I used green, since it was a little cheaper)

olive oil

paprika (regular or smoked)

chili powder (only if you use regular paprika, not smoked)

garlic salt

dried ginger

sea salt, black pepper, or crushed red pepper flakes

Tear the kale off the stem in medium-sized pieces. Place all the kale pieces in a bowl and mix in olive oil and all of the spices. Toss the kale in olive oil. There is no exact measurement for the spices, but I used roughly around 1/4 tsp. for most of the spices. After the kale as been fully mixed, place on a baking sheet and spread them out. I had to use one full baking sheet and one small one. You want to make sure all of the kale as enough space on the sheet, otherwise the kale will hold in all of the olive oil, and you won’t have that crispy taste. Next, place the baking sheets in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes or until the kale starts to wilt and crisp. Make sure you turn the kale occasionally, so no oil is being held. 

Medium-sized piece

Spices I used

Kale on baking sheet, about to go in the oven

Finished kale chips

Enjoy! 

Link ups-

Angry Julie Monday

 

This entry was published on August 29, 2012 at 11:51 AM and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “How to Make Homemade Kale Chips

  1. I made kale chips 2 or 3 times in my dehydrator, they were tasty enough, but reminded me of walking in the fall with leaves crunching beneath my feet, and pretty much decided I prefer leaves green, I also dehydrated potato chips, once. I’d like to try corn sometime. I love all the varieties, of kale green, red, dino, curly, seemingly endless varieties to perk up my salads.

    • That’s great! Yeah, I just bought a dehydrator last week and haven’t used it yet, but I’m hoping too soon.
      I only have tried a few varieties of kale and so far green and red are my favorites. I love kale salads too! More nutritious than just plain lettuce.

Leave a Reply

