Healthy Living Awaits- Real Health. Real Food. Real Living

What I Ate on Vacation

Picture above from left to right: My youngest sister, my younger sister, me in the blue, and then my dad. Picture taken at Disney World. 

I’m back! I haven’t been posting in about 1-1/2 weeks and that’s because my family and I took a trip to Disney World. While I was gone, I decided to take a few snap shots of what mostly I was eating on vacation. We just stayed in a basic hotel room,  which means no fridge (well there was one, but it was broken), no stove/oven, and nothing else that is gas or electric that I could cook on. So I had to bring foods that I could easily grab and eat while I was most of the time walking around one of the Disney parks. I occasionally ate a little something at a restaurant, (which you will see in this post), but most of the time I ate what I brought with me from home or from a health food store in Orlando. It definitely wasn’t all that easy finding GAPS-friendly foods to eat that was already prepared and healthy. But I survived and didn’t die from starvation…so I guess I did pretty good. 🙂 No, I’m just kidding,  but there were a few times when I really got hungry, but all in all, I had some tasty and different foods that I haven’t tried before, until now. So it was new and a learning experience. But I have to say, I’m really happy to be back in the comfort of my own kitchen and I’m REALLY eager to cook and bake a whole bunch of tasty whole and nutritious foods, and I want to try out some new good-looking recipes. So keep an eye out! 

These tasty raw nut snacks were perfect and really delicious. I got these from a health food store called CHAMBERLIN’S in Orlando. Too bad it’s not closer, because I was hooked on these! They were only made with honey, sunflower seeds, carob powder, peanuts, sesame seeds, pumpkin seeds, cashews and peanut butter. Nothing processed or unhealthy. I love foods and snacks that your body and completely utilize all every last bit. If you eat foods like this, your body won’t feel tired or bloated or feel like it’s having a hard time digesting. 
These don’t look like they would be too appetizing, but trust me, they are! The carob powder makes them have a little sweetness too!
I also bought these flaxseed crackers for fiber, but I didn’t care for the taste. I bought the sun-dried tomato and rosemary chips.
We went to this authentic Italian restaurant and everything was very fresh and made right to order. I could see them actually cooking everything and it was very clean. Everyone that worked there came from Italy just a couple of years ago and opened up this restaurant. I ordered this arugula salad (or insalata), that had nice big pieces of tuna fish that was imported from Italy in olive oil. It tasted so much better than the cheap tuna we have here. It tasted so fresh and it was still canned!

The restaurant was so good that we went back the next day! They had changed their menu, so the only thing I found that I would be able to eat was the tomato salad. It wasn’t bad, but it was just a basic tomato salad that anyone could easily make at home. 

Organic plain yogurt with 100% raw hemp protein powder. Well, I can tell you that I’m not a fan of the taste of hemp seeds, but I will continue to use it and try it out in some of my smoothies.

I had Disney make this salad for me the way I would be able to eat it, and they were very helpful and understanding. I had a bottle of V8 on the side.

There was a Whole Foods not far by from our hotel so we stopped by there and I picked up a few things. Back to Nature bag of roasted and sea salted nuts (no added oils), organic peanut butter, and their housemade guacamole. I used the flax chips to dip in the guacamole, and that really covered the taste of the flax chips.

Macaroni Grill’s roasted vegetables

Sautéed vegetables in China at Epcot. The vegetables were sautéed really well, and I just left the rice. 

Incase you were wondering, I just told Disney that I had a gluten, dairy and a sugar allergy, instead of going through all of the foods I can’t have on the GAPS. They already looked at me weird when I said I had those allergies to begin with. 

I hope you enjoyed this post and I hope to hear from you in all the upcoming posts that I’ll be doing! 

Link-ups

Angry Julie Monday

 

This entry was published on September 6, 2012 at 12:03 AM and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

