Healthy Living Awaits- Real Health. Real Food. Real Living

Delicious Grain-free/GAPS-friendly Banana Bread

Sorry for my lack of posting lately. I’ve been really busy and have only been cooking thinks that are pretty easy and know how to make on the top of my head. Usually when I’m busy, I just boil a bunch of different types of vegetables and eggs, and that’s pretty much my breakfast, lunch, and snack for the week. I’m trying to find some time again to cook, bake, and blog during this busy schedule. It’s going to be tough, but I love all of this too much to not find a way to make it work! 🙂 So, don’t think I’m giving up on blogging, I just might go through periods of not posting all the time or consistently. So, enough about all that, let’s get to the recipe!

I found this great recipe from Caroline from My Gutsy.

I followed this recipe exactly, except I added 1/2 cup of honey instead of the amount of honey it calls for, and the stevia. For some reason I just never like to try any other sweetener other than honey. I just love how everything just tastes sweet, and doesn’t take over the flavor of the baked good. I’ve never made anything that tastes bad when I used honey either. I use the raw for anything that’s not being heated, and I use regular pure honey for things that are going into the oven. 

Mash up the bananas with a fork

 

Add in all wet ingredients and whisk together

 

Now for the dry…..

 

Mix together with a spoon

 

Add in dry ingredients into the wet, and whisk together. I tried the batter at this point and it tasted amazing! If you use healthy eggs, you don’t have to worry too much about getting ill from the raw eggs. If they’re healthy, they’re actually very beneficial raw.

 

Spoon in the bread mixture into a parchment paper covered bread pan. I used both parchment and foil. Both work equally well, just parchment is healthier. 

Bread out of the oven

 

Do you see the depth of this bread!?! Have you seen allergy-friendly bread come out this well? I haven’t and I’ve made PLENTY of gluten-free breads before, and none of them turned out well. Also, this was my first grain-free bread that I made before, and I was really shocked that it turned out better than gluten-free bread. So far, being on the GAPS, I’m liking and having way more success going grain-free than gluten-free. That’s not only with feeling better, but cooking and baking better-tasting foods too!

This bread turned out fantastic! It held together perfectly and tasted exactly like regular banana bread. It was very moist too! I’ve made this bread 2 days in a row! It’s so good!

 

I hope you enjoyed this recipe, and I’d love to know if you are going to give the recipe a try. Also, please share your favorite allergy-friendly breads below in the comments. I love to try out new things! 

 

This entry was published on September 21, 2012 at 12:33 AM and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

