Healthy Living Awaits- Real Health. Real Food. Real Living

Homemade Pumpkin Pie (Grain-free/Dairy-free option)

I hope you had a nice Thanksgiving yesterday and indulged in your favorite healthy (or maybe not-so healthy) meals. 

I made this pumpkin pie by combining two different recipes. One for the crust and one for the pie filling. It came out very tasty. The only thing I should of done better with, was letting it cook longer. I followed the time that was said in the directions, but the pie filling still wasn’t completely done cooking, so it was a little wobbly. To try and fix that, I placed it in the freezer for about 20-30 minutes, and then transferred it to the fridge. It became much more firm after that. 

For the crust recipe, click here

For the pumpkin pie filling recipe, click here

The only things I changed with the pie filling recipe was that I replaced the sugar with honey and I used organic lactose-free milk, instead of almond milk. I’m sure you could use any type of milk you wanted, if you wanted to make it dairy-free as well. 

All ingredients for crust. I actually had to made two batches of the crust recipe so that I can extend the crust up the sides of the pan.

Press the crust down into the pie/cake pan.

All ingredients for pie filling.

 

Whisk all ingredients together.

 

Pour pie filling into the unbaked pie crust. Place into the oven and cook for 40-45 min instead of 30 minutes (like I did). Another good thing to follow is if your pie cracks a little, that means it’s done. 

 

And…..well-ah! It’s done! 

 

 

This entry was published on November 23, 2012 at 11:36 AM and is filed under GAPS, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Pumpkin Pie (Grain-free/Dairy-free option)

  1. 21stcenturyhousewife on said:

    Your pumpkin pie looks delicious, and it is wonderful how allergy friendly it is!

Leave a Reply

