Healthy Living Awaits- Real Health. Real Food. Real Living

Chocolatey Fudgy Birthday Cake (Grain-free/Paleo)

This recipe is from Paleo Spirit

My birthday was this past weekend, which brought me to the task of finding a birthday cake recipe. This was actually the first one that I found when I was searching and I knew it was a keeper! 

Click the link above for the cake and frosting recipe.

I made the cake exactly how she made it, but I just changed the frosting a little. Here’s what I did:

My version of the cake frosting-

1/2 cup of organic palm shortening 

1/2-1 cup of raw cream cheese (I used organic cream cheese, since I didn’t have time to make the raw)

2-3 tbs. of organic coconut milk

1/3 cup of pure honey

1/4 tsp. (maybe just a tad extra) of vanilla extract

Combine all the ingredients into a bowl and beat until all ingredients are well combined. 

Mix all dry ingredients together.IMG_1295

Mix all wet ingredients together. IMG_1296

Add the dry ingredients into the wet. Mix well. Pour batter into two cake pans (I think mine were around 9 inches). 
IMG_1298

Finished cake on cooling rack.

IMG_1302

My frosting.
IMG_1299

The icing is just a tad thin, so you’ll want to ice the cake and then put it the fridge for about 20-30 min. IMG_1304

Finished cake! It tastes really, really good! My sisters said it tasted a lot like white flour cake! IMG_0934

Enjoy! 

This entry was published on December 7, 2012 at 11:08 AM and is filed under GAPS, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Chocolatey Fudgy Birthday Cake (Grain-free/Paleo)

  1. I personally tried this exact receipe, (cake & frosting) it was absoulty delicious.

  2. This looks amazing!
    Thanks for sharing on GAPS Friendly Fridays. Unfortunately it’s not actually GAPS legal because fresh cheeses like cream cheese are not allowed on the diet. If it works to substitute homemade drained yogurt or another product, please update the recipe and resubmit it!

  3. If it’s chocolate it has to be good

  4. Adelay on said:

    This cake was the best gluten free cake I ever had!

Leave a Reply

