Healthy Living Awaits- Real Health. Real Food. Real Living

Homemade Peanut Butter (w/ a touch of cocoa)

I’ve been wanting to try out making homemade peanut butter, since I got my Vitamix for Christmas. I think nut butters just taste amazing and it’s crazy how much you can do with them. Who would have ever known you could use a nut butter, instead of flour? 

Now, I always try to eat everything organic that needs to be, but this recipe, I was a little more lax on. The reason being that they had a 1lb. container of dry roasted peanuts (no oils), at the store for a $1.99.  Sometimes you just kind of have to weigh out the options. Plus, if I went to find raw organic peanuts, I would have spent a fortune and would have been better off just buying healthy organic peanut butter at the store. I would be spending more money. So, that’s that story….

Ingredients-

1 cup of dry roasted peanuts

1 tbs. of unsweetened cocoa powder

2-3 tbs. of almond or raw milk  

1/2 tsp. of pure vanilla extract (optional)

honey or pure maple syrup to taste (optional)

Blend the peanuts. Blend in the rest of the ingredients. Enjoy!

IMG_2096

Blend peanutsIMG_2098

Add in the rest of the other ingredientsIMG_2099

Enjoy! IMG_2101

I can’t wait to try out almond butter too! Stay tooned!

This entry was published on March 14, 2013 at 9:26 AM. It’s filed under GAPS, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

