Healthy Living Awaits- Real Health. Real Food. Real Living

Homemade Raw Cottage Cheese

I’ll admit, going into this process, I was planning on it coming out like greek yogurt. I’m assuming it didn’t, since the raw liquid yogurt that I had, was a couple weeks old so it already started to thicken. That means it was already in a greek yogurt state, but just contained some extra whey. I was trying to eliminate a decent amount of the whey, because I was looking for a real thick creamy texture. I ended up with cottage cheese….still good though. 🙂 

What you’ll need- Raw liquid yogurt (preferably a couple weeks old), and no it’s not “bad” at this stage. It actually takes raw dairy a long time to go bad. The dairy just keeps changing it’s consistency to make other dairy products. Example: Milk, cream, cream cheese, ect. 

Anyway, you’ll also need a cheesecloth and possibly a strainer. 

First, start by pouring out your couple of weeks old yogurt into a cheese cloth. Close the cheesecloth up a little, making sure none of the yogurt drips out. Then find a place to tie the cheesecloth to, to strain. Most people use one of the knobs on their kitchen cabinets/closets, but I just tied mine to the kitchen faucet. Let it strain for about 1-1/2 hours. 

Yogurt straining.IMG_2311

What it looks like, once it’s done straining.
IMG_2312

Of course you’ll need to add some crushed pineapple to it.IMG_2314

Mix it in. Enjoy!IMG_2315

 

Follow me on…..

Facebook

Youtube

Instagram

 

 

This entry was published on May 7, 2013 at 10:04 AM. It’s filed under GAPS, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Homemade Raw Cottage Cheese

  1. Thank you so much for the recipe. Never knew it came from yogurt. Can I make this with natural organic yogurt that isn’t raw?

    Consider yourself hugged,
    http://simpleesue.com/try-one-new-recipe-a-week-perfectly-peanut-butter-brownies/

  2. (Hello, I found your blog from Healthy 2day Wednesdays.)

    This is exactly how I make Greek yogurt, but leave it draining for 12 hours, funny how you “accidentally” made cottage cheese from it. I’ll have to check on mine early next time and pull some out to see it I can do the same 🙂
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

