Healthy Living Awaits- Real Health. Real Food. Real Living

Food Prep and Birthday Celebration

Hello! Just got back from a quick getaway from Orlando (Disney) this weekend. This past Saturday was my little brother’s 1st birthday! It was a real exciting and fun time. I’m pretty sure he enjoyed it as well. 🙂 

So I’m a big picture taker in general, and then with a birthday celebration/quick gateway, that means even more pictures! 

I thought I’d start out with the food prep photos and then move on to some odd and end photos that I randomly took while I was there. 

I was only gone from home a little over 24 hours, but I ended up packing a decent amount of food because Disney doesn’t offer much food for my dietary needs. If you go to Disney and just avoid gluten or dairy, then it isn’t too hard to find something to eat, since they offer a lot of allergy-friendly options. It’s harder for me, because I really try to avoid sugar/HFCS, GMOs, growth hormones, and antibiotics as much as possible. Some of you may be thinking “Oh, it’s just for one day, what’s the big deal?”, but I was ill for a long time from what I believe was from what I listed above. So that is why I make sure I’m very careful about what I eat, because I never want to be how I was then. Side note: Excuse my vagueness on my “ill” story. It’s a topic that I’m not quiet sure if I feel comfortable blogging about yet. I’m sure I will sometime. After all….It’s the whole reason behind why I got into health and started this blog to begin with. 

Let’s move on to the pictures and what I packed.

Olive oil and oregano chick peas.

IMG_1926

Organic potato chips. So, potato chips have been something I’ve avoided for a long time, since the high levels of pesticides in potatoes, and all the GMO filled junk oils. Guess what? These don’t contain any of that! I may or may not of had too many of those…… 
IMG_1928

 

So these Pure bars are absolutely amazing! They’re vegan and gluten free, and more importantly….they taste so good! I bought brownie, banana coconut, and chocolate raspberry……..(sadly that one was so tasty, it didn’t make it for a picture). IMG_1930

 

IMG_1931

 

100% fruit stripsIMG_1932Dried pineapple IMG_1940

Now the egg salad and hummus ended up having to be thrown out. It’s a long story, but we never ended up getting a hotel refrigerator so the food got all warm, and there was no way I was about to eat warm egg salad and hummus!IMG_1942

 

IMG_1938

 

So here ends all of the food prep photos, but starts some of the food/drinks I was able to find while I was away. Most of these dishes I didn’t find on Disney property. 

Grilled vegetables with pesto.

IMG_1951Gluten free spaghetti with pancetta cream sauce. I can’t tell you how wonderful this was! IMG_2014Coconut Raspberry and Pineapple juice. So refreshing! IMG_1979Since I wanted to be somewhat apart of the dessert/cake celebration, I ordered some coffee and brought along a Enjoy Life dairy free dark chocolate bar.
IMG_2023
My little brother enjoying his birthday cake. 🙂 He’s totally Mickey obsessed! IMG_0695Moving on to Disney’s Christmas lights…..IMG_1954IMG_1955IMG_1956

IMG_1960

Follow me on…..

Facebook

Youtube

Instagram

This entry was published on November 18, 2013 at 5:23 PM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Food Prep and Birthday Celebration

  1. Love all of these food ideas! Def will be trying some of them out for snacks. Especially the oregano chick peas! They look tasty! 🙂

  2. You’re making me want to go book a trip to Disney right now! Those lights are awesome!

  3. Thanks so much for sharing with Wednesday’s Adorned Link Party. Have a great Thanksgiving.
    Debi and Charly @ Adorned From Above
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com

Leave a Reply

