Healthy Living Awaits- Real Health. Real Food. Real Living

Mini Apple Pies (Paleo)

This recipe is from PaleOMGexcept for the frosting.

So I’m going to say this right off the bat, so that way no one is confused or leaves me harsh comments about me not knowing what “paleo” is. The dessert itself is Paleo/grain-free, but the frosting I used, is not. I went ahead and used a cream cheese frosting, but for those of you who are strict paleo foodies, go ahead and head on over to PaleOMG to get the dairy-free topping. 

I made these for Thanksgiving dessert, and I really liked them. I thought they came out cute and festive looking.

The crust. May not look too appetizing but it smells so good! 

IMG_2157

 

Fill your muffin tinsIMG_2163

 

Smooth out the crust to make a little bit of a pocket. I noticed that smaller fingers work better for this, so this may be a good job for your kids. If not, I used my ring finger and just kept turning the muffin holder. Sort of like a spinning/pottery technique. IMG_2165

 

Heat apples and add the glaze. IMG_2167

 

Fill the muffin tin with about a tablespoon of apples.IMG_2170

 

Mini apple pies, straight out of the oven! IMG_2173

 

Add frosting of your choice. I just used my basic cream cheese frosting which is 8oz. of cream cheese, 1 – 1 1/2 tsp. of pure vanilla extract, and 1-2 tbs. of pure maple syrup. Beat with a hand held beater. I also sprinkled some cinnamon on top. Delish! Enjoy! IMG_2181

 

Follow me on…..

Facebook

Youtube

Instagram

 

This entry was published on November 29, 2013 at 10:43 AM. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Mini Apple Pies (Paleo)

  1. Oh, they look so cute and yummy! 🙂 Love the pictures!

Leave a Reply

